On a personal note: kicking off 2015

Last December, the startup I was working for failed to raise significant funding and abandoned future product development. At the New Year I found myself at a crossroads: look for another job or… Or what?

I came across a post and recommendation by Robert Scoble to blog daily as an interim occupation “between jobs.” I had started blogging years before but never really committed to the form. I wrote sporadically (I’m being generous) on my blog and shared more on Facebook and Google+. I also embraced Twitter, using its super-short format as a way to distill my thoughts to short tweets and to avoid multi-paragraph posts.

From chaos to beauty: the Chihuly Garden and Glass museum in Seattle.

From chaos to beauty: the Chihuly Garden and Glass museum in Seattle. 

Scoble’s advice was to write 3 blog posts a day and, since it was New Years, I made a resolution to blog (once!) every business day and I mostly stuck to it.

Looking back at this year of writing, I can definitely see some good and bad.

The bad: some posts cause me to cringe when I read them now, or even when I read them a few days after writing them. Yet I left them up, choosing not to delete them, as each was a learning experience. Posts became cringe-worthy for different reasons. Some are hard to read, having been rewritten, re-sequenced and tinkered with too many times. Some are bad subject choices that I committed myself to writing about without really thinking it through. Some of those are just “I’ve already worked on this past for X hours, I’m not going to trash it now!” stubbornness. And some really needed a copy editor. I left them all up except one, where a commenter detailed so much of what I had gotten wrong in that post that it needed to be expunged from the public eye.

The good: looking back at the year, some posts I still think are focused and well written. Some had product ideas I still think could work, some were more opinion pieces than product ideas but I still like as they reflected industry trends at the time. My favorite ones in hindsight were topics that I explored and other, more prominent, bloggers wrote about after I did. I also loved it when a developer chose to reply to my post about their app. Or when a company implemented a feature I had suggested, not because they read my blog but because they also came up with the same ideas. I love it when that happened.

But perhaps the most fulfilling part of blogging this year was the growing number of readers that WordPress tells me are reading my posts. This is humbling and gratifying at the same time and I’m thankful for each and every one of them. I’m especially grateful to those that take the time to comment, whether here on on other social platforms. It means a lot to me that people care enough to engage.

Finally, looking forward to 2015 I am going to continue to blog every business day and try to implement lessons learned in 2014. I’ll try to focus more on app reviews, mobile & internet product ideas and some industry analysis. I’ll also talk a bit more about diversity and tech as I naively believe it will be a part of the conversation in Silicon Valley this year. I hope you will come along for the ride!

So, thank you, Scoble, for inspiring my blogging this year, and thank you, readers, for reading and engaging.

Now, let’s get to work…

2 thoughts on “On a personal note: kicking off 2015

  1. Hi,
    i found the blog enlightening and enjoy reading it. i admin i don’t read daily… (and admire how you can write on a daily basis) but when i read – i mostly read few of them in a sequence.
    Keep going 🙂

Leave a Reply

