What else can Google add to Maps?

10 most popular apps in the US in 2013. Source: Mashable & Statista

10 most popular apps in the US in 2013. Source: Mashable & Statista

We love maps. Specifically we love Google Maps. We love it so much it’s the 7th most popular app in the US based on the average monthly users. It makes sense: when we’re on the go we need to know where to go and how to get there.

Yesterday Google Maps announced a very tight integration with Uber. It makes sense: Uber is a smart way to get from one place to another and is already accessed via an app. But Google, as long as you’re integrating Uber, how about integrating a few more useful on-the-go apps such as…

Gas Buddy: my favorite road-trip app, one that tells me where

Gas Buddy. Already based on Google Maps.

Gas Buddy. Already based on Google Maps.

the gas stations in my area are and what prices they’re charging. But when I use it I constantly have to flip between its view with the different gas station locations (and their prices) and Google Maps to get directions to my chosen gas station. I sometimes need to enter the gas station location on google maps to actually know which highway exit to take. This is wrong. If Google integrated GasBuddy price data into its already existing database of gas stations my highway navigation would be easier. Add it as a layer (like traffic) with all multiple locations on the map at the same time (not just the one which is my search result.)

Best Parking and my local SF Park apps: my most-used night-out app, used for finding convenient garages and street parking at my destination. I use this more than Gas Buddy and encounter the exact same problem: a constant flipping between the app and Google Maps to get to the garage. Again, add this as a layer with multiple locations and prices.

Yelp is another app that I find myself flipping back and forth between it and Google Maps but I’m assuming business factors will block that integration.

Any other ideas, loyal readers?

Leave a Reply

