Android On My Wrist: A Wishlist

Google announced earlier today that Android is coming to wearables with a focus on watches and other wrist devices. Their demo included weather, messaging, social and news apps but there’s really room for a lot more.

Here are the top three things I’d like to see on my wrist when I’m on the go:

Android Wear: Information that moves with you. Photo: Google

Android Wear: Information that moves with you. Photo: Google

1. Transportation: From ridesharing to public transportation, I’d like to know where my ride is and how soon I can get home. This is especially useful when I’m not in my home town and am less familiar with local transportation.

2. Entertainment: show times for nearby events. Am I near a movie theater? What movie starts next? Am I near a club? What jazz band or comic is up?

3. Hospitality: ratings and recommendations for nearby hotels and restaurants. Great bakery with special cupcakes? Tempt me with pictures, please!

Finally, I’d like to be able to use my watch independently of my smartphone and to be able to go out without carrying my phone. It seems like this is they way it will work, so I’m happy.

 

.

 

Leave a Reply

